This page lists Current Board of Directors, Past Board Members, and IFB Staff

Current Board of Directors

Michele Garfinkel, PhD – Board Chairman and Executive Committee
Science Policy Manager
European Molecular Biology Organization

Susan McCord – President
Institute of Forest Biosciences

Lori Knowles, LL.B, B.C.L., M.A., LL.M. – Board Executive Committee
School of Public Health, University of Alberta, Canada

Trevor Stuthridge, PhD – Board Vice Chair
Forestry Consultant
Vancouver Canada

Stephen Prisley, PhD
Principal Research Scientist
National Council for Air and Stream Improvement

Chip Miller
Timberlands Manager
Jordan Lumber

Matheus Filipe Zonete
Planning and Technology
Amata Brasil, São Paulo Brazil

Timothy J.Strabala, PhD
Senior Advisor, Environmental Protection Authority,
New Zealand

Monica Lear, PhD – US Forest Service Liaison
Associate Deputy Chief,
USDA Forest Service

Past Board Members

Adam Costanza – Past President
Institute of Forest Biosciences

Sally Aitken, PhD
Professor – Department of Forest & Conservation Sciences University of British Columbia

Bob Emory
Southern Timberlands Environmental Affairs Manager
Weyerhaeuser Company

Reid Miner
Vice President, Sustainable Manufacturing
National Council for Air and Stream Improvement

Stephen Kelley, PhD
Professor and Department Head, Wood and Paper Science NC State University

Les Pearson, PhD
Director of Regulatory Affairs
ArborGen Inc.

Michael Rodemeyer
University of Virginia

Malcolm Campbell, PhD – Board Vice Chairman and Executive Committee
Professor and Vice Prinicipal, Research
University of Toronto Scarborough

Sofia Valenzuela, PhD
Facultad de Ciencias Forestales Universidad de Concepcion

Wayne Barfield
Vice President of Forest Research MeadWestvaco Forestry Division

W. Steven Burke
President Biofuels Center of North Carolina

Sara Boettiger
Program Director Public Intellectual Property Resource for Agriculture

Aluizio Borem, PhD
Professor Federal University of Vicosa

Vincent Chiang, PhD
Professor and Co-Director, Forest Biosciences Group
NC State University

Jeffrey F.D. Dean, PhD
Professor, Forest Biosciences Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
University of Georgia

Christine Dean, PhD
Director of Western Timberlands Research
Weyerhauser Company

Don Doering, PhD
Program Officer, Global Development Program Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Robert M. Friedman, PhD
Vice President, Environmental and Energy Policy The J. Craig Venter Institute

Kevan Gartland, PhD
Dean of Life Sciences Glasgow Caledonian University

Maud Hinchee, PhD
Chief Technology Officer ArborGen

Robert Kellison, PhD
Past President Institute of Forest Biotechnology

Kenneth Munson, PhD
Director, Global Forestry International Paper

Chadwick Oliver, PhD
Director, Global Institute of Sustainable Forestry Yale University

Dennis Le Master, PhD
Professor and Head, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources Purdue University

Jonathan R. Malkin
Managing General Partner ATP Capital

John Pait
Vice President, Business Development CellFor

Noah Pickus, PhD
Associate Director, Keenan Institute for Ethics Duke University

Keith Pitts
Director of Policy PEW Initiative on Food and Biotechnology

Roger Sedjo, PhD
Senior Fellow and Director, Forest Economics and Policy Program Resources for the Future

Risto Seppala, PhD
Past President
International Union of Forest Research Organizations

Ron Sederoff, PhD
Distinguished University Professor of Forestry and Co-Director of the Forest Biosciences Group NC State University

Ben Sutton, PhD
Executive Vice President, Business Development CellFor

Barbara Wells, PhD
President & CEO ArborGen Inc.

In Memoriam

George Weyerhaeuser Jr.
Past Chair

Alan A. Lucier, PhD.
Past Chair

Hal Salwasser, PhD.

IFB Staff

Susan McCord