Forest Biotechnologist of the Year

Every other year, corresponding with the IUFRO Tree Biotech meeting, peers in the field of forest biotechnology nominate and selects one individual that best exemplifies environmentally and socially responsible forest biotechnology. Candidates should work diligently to promote science, dialogue, and stewardship in this field.

Current Forest Biotechnologist of the Year

Dr. Dario Grattapaglia, Senior Scientist of EMBRAPA Genetic Resources and Biotechnology, Brasília Brazil

Past Forest Biotechnologists of the Year

Dr. Stefan Jansson, Professor at Ume Plant Science Centre (UPSC) at the Department of Plant Physiology at Ume University.

Dr. Shawn Mansfield, Department of Wood Science at the Faculty of Forestry, University of British Columbia

Dr. William Powell, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF)

Dr. Jerry Tuskan, Oak Ridge National Laboratory Distinguished Scientist in the BioSciences Division

Dr. Ron Sederoff, Edwin F. Conger Professor of Forestry & Environmental Resources at NC State University

Dr. Wout Boerjan, Molecular geneticist Wout Boerjan of VIB and the University of Ghent (UGent)

Dr. Steven Strauss, University Distinguished Professor of Forest Biosciences at Oregon State University

How are winners chosen?

The rules are simple:

  • IUFRO Tree Biotech members and meeting attendees, Forest Biosciences Partners, IFB Board Members , and past winners of the award are eligible to nominate candidates and vote on the winner.
    • Candidates should have a compelling set of accomplishments in each category, as further detailed below.
  • The same people eligible to nominate candidates vote on a single winner every 2 years. A link to each candidates nomination information, and anonymous voting form will be available once the nomination period ends.
  • The IFB and IUFRO Tree Biotech Organizers will announce a winner at the next IUFRO Tree Biotech Meeting.


Fill out this Word Document in its entirety to nominate a candidate and email the form to the IFB. (hello (at) Nominations are open until April 30, 2019.

Nomination and Selection Guidelines

Each area, Science, Dialogue, and Stewardship are discussed below with examples of the type of information that should be considered when considering a person for Forest Biotechnologist of the Year.

Exemplary Science can be demonstrated with accomplishments that might include:

  • Peer reviewed publications or citation impact index
  • Grant or other funding for scientific efforts
  • Involvement in major forest biotechnology projects

Expanding Dialogue in forest biotechnology usually involves interacting with stakeholders in the field. Dialogue can be demonstrated by:

  • Talks given at conferences.
  • Working group involvement.
  • Outreach to the broader community and stakeholders.

Accelerating Stewardship can be demonstrated through work that results in tangible benefits from forest biotechnologies being used in responsible ways. Some examples of stewardship in forest biotechnology include:

  • Addressing broad social or environmental needs with tangible products.
  • Influencing entrenched dogmas in forest biotechnology that are counterproductive or inefficient.
  • Initiatives that bridge gaps between research and implementation of forest biotechnologies.